[Music in my Mind Series] TAEYEON’s My Voice

It really was a spiral that brought me to TAEYEON’s latest album. How did it all begin? My trip to China –> Chinese Dramas Weiyoung and Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms and Ghost Candle Lantern –> Watching Chinese and Taiwanese and Hong Kong variety shows to see the actors and actresses of these dramas –> Going over to watch the Korean drama Goblin because I ran out of Chinese Dramas to watch –> Falling in love with Gong Yoo and trying to find everything of him I could (more about Train to Busan in another post) and watching him appear on Running Man –> becoming obsessed with Running Man and seeing TAEYEON appear on Running Man while simultaneously also being in love with the Goblin TV Drama Soundtrack –> Finding TAEYEON’s previous singles and finally to her first solo album, My Voice.

She originally debuted as part of the Girl’s Generation group. I’m not sure how one would classify her, or if you would count her as generic pop, generic k pop, too mainstream, because this isn’t my area of expertise. All I can say is that these songs are all on my mind and so I wanted to share some of the ones that appear in my mind more with you!

file-1

Fine, Sweet Love,  and Time Lapse are my favorites from her latest album, though I can say that all of the tunes are catchy and I feel like they take me on a roller coaster of emotions as she experiments from pop-rock to R&B to ballads.

I also previously enjoyed her singles (songs from her mini albums) Why, I, and 11:11.

Here’s the video to Fine:

Here’s the video to Why (which is probably one of my favorites):

Have you listened to her new album yet? What’s your favorite song from My Voice

 


Leave a comment