[Movietalk #1] Moonrise Kingdom

It has been a while indeed… but I have not disappeared forever! I had quite an eventful weekend – I visited a dear friend (Charkie) who I have not seen in two years! It was a lovely reunion and I will definitely document. However, I will work my way backwards through time, through my little mind.

movie_-_Moonrise-Kingdom

Last night, I watched Moonrise Kingdom as it was featured as part of the Bethesda Outdoor Movies Series. Two of my favorite quotes are said by Suzy, one of two main characters.

I always wished I was an orphan. Most of my favorite characters are. I think your lives are more special.

I loved hearing this, because I know that as a young girl, I found myself with the exact same wish. I had lovely, caring parents, but when most of the main protagonists in the novels you read are [female] orphans – The Little PrincessAnne of Green GablesPippi LongstockingThe Secret GardenThe Witch of Blackbird Pond – you find yourself almost glamourizing that life. Sam has a good response, “I love you, but you have no idea what you are talking about.”

[Suzy]
It helps me see things closer. Even if they’re not very far away. I pretend it’s my magic power.

[Sam]
That sounds like poetry. Poems don’t always have to rhyme, you know. They’re just supposed to be creative.

When I heard Suzy describe why she always held the binoculars close to her, I teared up a little. Something so lovely with what she said. Watching this movie brought such a warm and fuzzy feeling straight to my heart. With the setting (the camp, the houses, the woods), the interesting clothes, and the fictitious novels that Suzy carries around (possibly stolen from the library), the film brought the fabrics and textures of my childhood summers right back to me. The forts that I created in the trees behind our houses, slip n’ slides, Girl Scouts camps, etc.

I won’t say anymore as to avoid spoiling the film for you. But I stumbled across this post about a Moonrise Kingdom-inspired wedding. Take a look for yourself –
Part 1
Part 2

Ta ta for now (TTFN) – I’ll be back with more images from my visit to NJ/NYC!


4 thoughts on “[Movietalk #1] Moonrise Kingdom

  1. Sam’s response – spot on! but yes, i hadn’t realized how many of our favorite protagonists are orphans.
    loved your visit!!!!

      1. Thanks for the link Jannie. It’s getting harder and harder to find movies we’ll all like. There are only so many classics from the 80s I can make them watch.

Leave a comment